Tell us about yourself.

I am 50+ year old – I don’t need to get into the + but put it this way … I qualify for Masters. I live in Takoma Park with my husband, 2 awesome dogs, and one of our kids & his girlfriend. We have three kids, 2 by birth – ages 20 & 23 and one bonus son (age 21) who has been part of our family since he was 16. Two of my kids come to Second Wind when they are in town, which is always fun.

I grew up in Virginia but have lived in this area for 26 years after spending some time in Boston and in the Peace Corps in Senegal. I’m in my third career. My first was as an accountant for a software company (boring but good for my 20s); The second, after Peace Corps and going to grad school, was as a GIS analyst and project manager working on poverty & food security, primarily in Africa, for different non-profits in the DC area. Then, a couple of years ago, I started a social enterprise/not-for-profit business working with women artisans in Guatemala.

What class do you usually attend?  

Almost always 9:15; and sometimes 11 on Saturday or Sunday.

How long have you been training at Second Wind CrossFit?

7 years(?!?) … is that possible?

and… why Second Wind CrossFit?

The awesome community, the fabulous coaching, the challenge & the constant variety of workouts.

What has CrossFit done for you?

I’ve always been active and incorporated exercise in my life but also easily got bored with the same old thing day in and day out. CrossFit provides variety and challenge. It incorporates many movements and lifts that I NEVER would do on my own. CrossFit has also shown me that working out in a tight and supportive community is super fun, provides great support, and encourages me to push myself.

Favorite lift, movement or workout?

Snatch & bench press. I love chippers. I am drawn to WODs with rowing.

Write a WOD.  

Isn’t that the coaches job?!  Alright, here goes:

800m row, then
3-4 rounds
20 box jumps
20 wall balls
25 situps
800m row

What exercise makes you want to turn around and head home?

 BURPEES in large quantities & running more than one 800 in a WOD. (editor note:  isn’t this true for EVERYbody except Coach Morgan?)

What do you do when you’re not doing CrossFit? 

Run a business; watch and go to Nats games; take care of my insanely energetic dogs; hang out with friends; bike; try to eat healthy while avoiding cooking very much (this last one is quite difficult to achieve).

Favorite podcast:

S-town; The Dropout; Pod Save America; This American Life; Serial; Crimetown

What book did you just read?

Killers of the Flower Moon

What song should we add to our playlist?

Baby Shark … just kidding, it will take a while to get the Nats out of my system. Anything by Pink from mid-late 2000s

Tell us something surprising about you…

I like peanut butter on vanilla ice cream

Biggest accomplishment in the gym?

Coming 4 times a week, most weeks. Adjusting expectations and not being too hard on myself. Someday I’ll say pull-up, but not today.